top of page

The key multi-tasking: juggling and succeeding

As a second year University student on a full time PR course, having a part time industry job and a separate internship whilst trying to secure first’s, withhold a half decent social life and be in a relationship means that multi-tasking is my thing.

Juggling all this is hard, but can be done right. Sometimes it feels like the world is ready to swallow you up whole, but I thought I’d share some idea’s that helps me keep on top of it all and balance all of these things.

1) Plan plan plan

I can’t stress this enough. My weeks involved several to-do lists and a diary clutched in my hand, this helps when you start to feel overwhelmed by all the tasks in hand. Funnily enough writing them down makes the whole thing seem that bit less scary, and the crossing out of completed tasks is very therapeutic.

2) Be honest

.. with yourself, about your priorities and what needs to get done. Don’t ignore tasks because you want to go to the pub. I’m often accused of not being very spontaneous, but my current lifestyle doesn’t facilitate that. I plan when I’m meeting up with my friends and partner in advanced so that I can have all (or the majority) of my work done before we meet. Make it clear to people in your life that the reason you are busy is because this is very important to you. True friends will understand, others are probably just your friends in disguise - it’s an excellent eye opener.

3) Leave things alone

Plan and do things one at a time, if you’re at work, don’t think about uni work. If you’re at uni, don’t think about work. Don’t answer emails on the morning train (that’s your relaxing time before a mad day). This is one of my key tips for keeping things in track, I make sure my mind is only in one place at one time.

And lastly…

4) Enjoy it!

I consider myself so lucky to be in the position I am in. I have an industry job, have the right to full time education and enjoy my studies and receive so much help and support from tutors, friends and family. When I land in bed in a whirl at the weekend I’m often so grateful for the opportunities I have and get a buzz from constant business. Don’t see assignments as a chore, hone in on what you enjoy and enjoy the crazy ride of University. It’ll soon be over and we’ll be in the big wide world.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page