top of page

Being Opportunistic in PR


I recently took place in a blog post for BCU's PR blog WearePR, talking about my course and my future. One of the questions was 'What advice would you give to yourself a few years ago?', and I mentioned taking the big gulp, but also about utilising your opportunities.

PR is a career built on taking opportunities; the opportunity to be noticed, the opportunity to get a client in the press, the opportunity to meet someone who works at the agency of your dreams, making and crafting these opportunities. One of the things I've come to realise is that opportunities aren't just passing boats, but can be self made, self created.

In my chat with BCU WearePR, I talked about taking the right opportunities for you and doing them justice. This is so important. Better to take an opportunity, and do it well and make sure you are remembered, then take multiple and not make any impact.

This doesn't mean only doing one thing, but rather utilising what is right for you at the time. I'm currently studying full-time, writing my Dissertation, self-managing a PR project, and working as a Social Media Executive for Made Media. I've also volunteered for Birmingham Children's Hospital, attended many networking events, undertook work experience placements and get to the gym 4/5 times a week. It doesn't mean standing still.

"Opportunistic: a person who practices opportunism, or the policy of adapting actions,decisions, etc., to effectiveness regardless of the sacrifice of ethical principles"

I used to think being opportunistic meant taking everything that came my way. After all, I was lucky to be in the position, right?

Taking a variety of opportunities taught me a lot and allowed me to easily adapt myself. But it also meant I burnt out, and the opportunities that really mattered the most were being sacrificed.

As PR students, we're constantly encouraged to seek out opportunities and take them. I completed agree with this - networking and placements are a must in the industry. The PR industry is all about being opportunistic. My biggest mistake was devouring every opportunity that presented itself. PR is strategic and targeted. Quality over quantity.

Like any PR work, rather than aiming to get your message across on every single medium or platform that exists, it's about targeting the appropriate medium with the appropriate message.

Why aren't we applying ourselves and our message in the same way?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page